Professor Jinsong Leng elected as Foreign Academician of Academia Europaea
Publishing Time:2018-10-25

Recently, the Academia Europaea announced the list of new academicians and foreign academicians. Professor Jinsong Leng of Harbin Institute of Technology was elected as foreign academician of the Academia Europaea in 2018.

Academia Europaea, is a scientific organization sponsored by the science ministers from 35 European countries and initiated by the UK Royal Society and other National Academy of Sciences. It is founded in 1988 and headquartered in London, England. Academia Europaea consists of 20 departments covering the fields of humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and science and technology. It is considered to be one of the most extensive, academically advanced and influential international scientific organizations.

The academician of the Academia Europaea is mainly selected from among the academicians of European countries, which is a lofty international academic honor for scientist. The election is held once a year with strict selection process. It follows the steps of peer group nomination, scrutiny, communication review, and final permission by the Council of the Academia as to confirm the eminence of the chosen individuals in their field. The number of memberships stands at around 4,000. Amongst them there are 73 Nobel Prize winners, 6 Turing Award winners and 15 Fields Prize winners, several of whom were elected to the Academia before they received the prize.

Prof. Jinsong Leng is a professor at the Centre for Composite Materials and Structures, a distinguished professor of Cheung Kong Scholars Program, a winner of the National Outstanding Youth Fund, a winner in the first batch of scientific and technological innovation leading talents of the 10000 people plan and a winner in the National talent engineering candidate. His researches include intelligent materials, structural mechanics and design, flexible robots, 4D printing technology and biomedical devices, structural health monitoring, multi-functional nanocomposite structures, and so on. His research achievements have won the second prize of National Prize for Natural Sciences. He currently serves as Vice Chairman of the International Committee on Composite Materials (ICCM) and Vice President of the Chinese Society for Composite Materials. He was selected as Fellow of the SPIE in 2010, Fellow of Institute of Physics (IOP) in 2011, Fellow of Institute of Materials, Minerals, and Mining (IMMM) in 2011, Associate Fellow of AIAA in 2012, Fellow of Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS) in 2013. He was awarded as the Honorary Professor of Kingston University London (UK) in 2014, Second Prize of State Natural Science (China) in 2015, Research Giant by University of Southern Queensland (Australia) in 2016, ICCM World Fellow in 2017, and the Member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts in 2017.